Who We Are

The Alaska Federation of Natives (AFN) is the largest statewide Native organization in Alaska. Its membership includes 209 federally recognized tribes, 185 village corporations, 9 regional corporations, and 10 regional nonprofit and tribal consortiums that contract and compact to run federal and state programs. AFN is governed by a 38-member board, which is elected by its membership at the annual convention held each October. Learn more about AFN's history here.

width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

Our Mission

Alaska Native people began as members of full sovereign nations and continue to enjoy a unique political relationship with the federal government. We will survive and prosper as distinct ethnic and cultural groups and will participate fully as members of the overall society. AFN’s mission is to enhance and promote the cultural, economic and political voice of the entire Alaska Native community. Our major goals are to:

  • Advocate for Alaska Native people, their governments and organizations, with respect to federal, state and local laws;
  • Foster and encourage preservation of Alaska Native cultures;
  • Promote understanding of the economic needs of Alaska Natives and encourage development consistent with those needs;
  • Protect, retain and enhance all lands owned by Alaska Natives and their organizations; and
  • Promote and advocate for programs and systems which instill pride and confidence in individual Alaska Natives.

Board of Directors

Click the filters below to sort by region or board committee.

AFN Staff

Julie Kitka, President

Benjamin Mallott, Vice President of External Affairs

Nicole Borromeo, Executive Vice President & General Counsel

Nicole James, Executive Assistant/Board Secretary

Toan Nguyen, Staff Accountant

Nikki Stoops, Special Assistant to the President & Convention Coordinator

Nicole Espe, Special Assistant to the Vice President

Will Kronick, Director, Indian Child Welfare Initiative